“You’re in heaven right now…”

Gazing out over a mountain of tropical rainforest and sinking into a chocolate bath with floating marshmallows, it’s easy to believe that my friend had it right when she told me: “You’re in heaven right now”.

Image

There are some places you come across which evoke such a feeling of serenity, that you just don’t want to leave. Or, rather, in the case of the 5-star Los Altos de Eros spa – part of the 8th best hotel in the world, according to the Tripadvisor 2011 Awards – they whisper it.

Image

Unwinding in a chocolate bath with floating marshmallows whilst breathing in the sublime scenery, was a breath of fresh air after the heady whirlwind of Tamarindo; it was just the treat after so many twists and turns on Tamarindo’s waves – or ondas, as they see here.

I got picked up from my Costa Rican homestay at 9am and whisked up high into the mountains, where the buzz and din of the Saturday night before, was a distant memory.

I was greeted by a kindly masseuse who showed me the way to the treatment room: the oak wood room fed onto a jaw-dropping panoramic view.

Image

The 90-minute massage, enjoyed to the sound of tranquil, soporific music, teased out the aches from the surfing, and went by in a flash.

This was followed by a medley of honey and cucumber and lime, smothered on my face.

As I digested my gourmet lunch in the jacuzzi, it was easy to see why people call Los Altos de Eros the best spa in Costa Rica. My smiling therapist even had to encourage me to leave to catch my ride, but it was the perfect end to my own dose of pura vida.

Image

About emerge28

I travel the world, promoting foreign direct investment (FDI) into emerging nations via country branding reports within international media. The aim of my blog is to document some of the amazing places I travel to, the inspiring people I meet and chart how the world is changing, with power and growth moving east and south.
This entry was posted in Costa Rica and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to “You’re in heaven right now…”

  1. Looks amazing! Pura Vida 🙂

Leave a Reply

